Brexit Withdrawal Agreement January 2020

The United Kingdom (UK) left the European Union (EU) on 31 January 2020 at midnight Central European Time (23:00 GMT). On 20 December 2019, following the Conservatives` victory in the 2019 UK general election, the House of Commons passed the second reading of the Withdrawal Agreement Bill with a lead of 358 votes to 234. After amendments proposed by the upper house and Ping-Pong between the two chambers, the bill obtained royal approval on January 23, 2020, which allowed ratification on the British side. [39] The European Union and the United Kingdom approved the Withdrawal Agreement. The British Parliament and the European Parliament have yet to approve the Withdrawal Agreement. The 599-page Withdrawal Agreement covers the following key areas:[16] The UK Parliament decides that a further extension of the Brexit date is necessary because it wants to first review the corresponding legislation before the vote on the Withdrawal Agreement. The British government then asked the EU to postpone the Brexit date to 31 January 2020. The Declaration on the Future Relationship between the European Union and the United Kingdom, also known as the Political Declaration, is a non-binding declaration, negotiated and signed at the same time as the binding and more comprehensive Withdrawal Agreement in the context of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union (EU), commonly known as Brexit, and the planned end of the transition period. The agreement also provides for a transitional period until 31 December 2020 and can be renewed by mutual agreement. During the transition period, EU legislation remains applicable to the UK (including participation in the European Economic Area, the internal market and the customs union) and the UK will continue to contribute to the EU budget, but the UK will not be represented in EU decision-making bodies.

The transition period will give businesses time to adjust to the new situation and the UK and EU governments to negotiate a new EU-UK trade deal. [17] [18] On 22 October, the British Parliament agreed to review Brexit legislation. But he decided it needed longer than the British Prime Minister had proposed. It is therefore no longer possible to withdraw agreements on the scheduled Brexit date of 31 October. The Brexit deal will only come into force once the Brexit law has been passed by the UK Parliament. On the EU side, the European Parliament also approved the ratification of the agreement on 29 January 2020[40] and the Council of the European Union approved the conclusion of the agreement by email on 30 January 2020[41]. [42] Accordingly, the European Union also deposited its instrument of ratification of the Agreement on 30 January 2020, thus concluding the Agreement[43] and brought it into force on the date of the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the Union, on 31 January 2020, at 11 p.m GMT. Immediately after the announcement of a revised withdrawal agreement on 17 October 2019, Labour, the Liberal Democrats and the DUP said they could not support the new agreement. [30] For trade in goods with the United Kingdom, Brexit means that customs formalities must be complied with for trade in goods with Great Britain at the end of the transition period. . .